Council Directory

The Office of the City Clerk is the official record keeper for all Chicago City Council legislation. Our City government impacts each of our lives in ways great and small. On average, more than 1,000 pieces of legislation are considered at each City Council meeting.

Each of our City's 50 alderman represent communities of around 65,000 people. Their decisions on the floor of the City Council help shape the direction of our City.

At times, following City Council can be confusing. We want to put you in direct contact with your elected officials via social media as well as the more traditional means of communication. Please use this online tool to familiarize yourself with the Chicago City Council and make your voice heard on the issues that matter to you most.

chamber seating key
Lori E Lightfoot
Anna M Valencia
Daniel La Spata
Ward 1
Brian Hopkins
Ward 2
Pat Dowell
Ward 3
Sophia King
Ward 4
Leslie A Hairston
Ward 5
Roderick T Sawyer
Ward 6
Gregory I Mitchell
Ward 7
Michelle A Harris
Ward 8
Anthony Beale
Ward 9
Susan Sadlowski Garza
Ward 10
Patrick D Thompson
Ward 11
George A Cardenas
Ward 12
Marty Quinn
Ward 13
Edward M Burke
Ward 14
Raymond A Lopez
Ward 15
Stephanie Coleman
Ward 16
David H Moore
Ward 17
Derrick G Curtis
Ward 18
Matthew J O'Shea
Ward 19
Jeanette Taylor
Ward 20
Howard Brookins Jr.
Ward 21
Michael D Rodriguez
Ward 22
Silvana Tabares
Ward 23
Michael Scott Jr.
Ward 24
Byron Sigcho-Lopez
Ward 25
Roberto Maldonado
Ward 26
Walter Burnett Jr.
Ward 27
Jason C Ervin
Ward 28
Chris Taliaferro
Ward 29
Ariel Reboyras
Ward 30
Felix Cardona Jr.
Ward 31
Scott Waguespack
Ward 32
Rossana Rodriguez Sanchez
Ward 33
Carrie M Austin
Ward 34
Carlos Ramirez-Rosa
Ward 35
Gilbert Villegas
Ward 36
Emma Mitts
Ward 37
Nicholas Sposato
Ward 38
Samantha Nugent
Ward 39
Andre Vasquez
Ward 40
Anthony V Napolitano
Ward 41
Brendan Reilly
Ward 42
Michele Smith
Ward 43
Thomas Tunney
Ward 44
James Gardiner
Ward 45
James Cappleman
Ward 46
Matt Martin
Ward 47
Harry Osterman
Ward 48
Maria Hadden
Ward 49
Debra L Silverstein
Ward 50